Her: Holistic Health

Thwack on the Side of My Head

In Uncategorized on May 18, 2010 at 6:43 pm

(found on an actual sign on an actual street in my actual neighborhood)

Does this just happen to me or do you find that sometimes the cosmos gently speaks to you and sometimes it simply thwacks you on the side of the head? My thwack came last week when I realized that in the last month or so not one, not two, but three women that I greatly admire and am constantly inspired by all have read poetry aloud from the same book entitled Risking Everything. I took the hint and bought a copy for myself and discovered this…

Love After Love by David Walcott

The time will come
when, with elation
you will greet yourself arriving
at your own door, in your own mirror
and each will smile at the other’s welcome,

and say, sit here. Eat.
You will love again the stranger who was your self.
Give wine. Give bread. Give back your heart
to itself, to the stranger who has loved you

all your life, whom you ignored
for another, who knows you by heart.
Take down the love letters from the bookshelf,

the photographs, the desperate notes,
peel your own image from the mirror.
Sit. Feast on your life.

Sigh, two poems into the collection and I am already grateful for the thwack.

  1. oh…i so love that poem.
    i read it a few years ago and loved it so much that i wrote it in paint on my bathroom mirror….it spoke and will always speak so much to me.

    and that image is so magical!

  2. I just put that book on hold at the library!!

  3. Valerie, now you’ve thwacked me! I’ve been wanting a new book of poetry. What better way than to follow the reference of a dear trusted friend? I clicked on your link and ordered it used for $3.51 with one click!! Thank you!!

  4. dear valerie…
    i LOOVE this.
    thank you for sharing! i am off to find that book.
    hugs to you.
    hoping to see your sweet face in october.
    c
    p.s. i spoke to jennifer this weekend and she sang your praises!
    of course!

Leave a Reply

